Nuruddin Zakaria becomes champion of ‘Quraner Noor’ contest

Hafez Nuruddin Muhammad Zakaria has become champion in the ‘Quraner Noor’ competition, the biggest-ever Quran recitation contest in the country, competing with around 10,000 participants.

Shahriar Nafis has become first runner-up while Mosharraf Hossain second runner-up.

Champion Nuruddin Zakaria of Markazu Faizil Quran Al-Islami of Dhaka has been awarded Tk 1 million while first runner-up Shahriar Nafis of Dhaka and second runner-up Mosharraf Hossain of Comilla Tahfizul Hifz Quran Madrasah have received Tk 0.7 million and Tk 0.5 million respectively.

The biggest-ever Quran recitation contest in the country ended through the award-giving ceremony and an Islamic conference at International Convention City Bashundhara (ICCB) in the capital on Saturday, said a press release.

Over 1,000 guests, including Islamic scholars from home and abroad and imams of different mosques joined the conference.

Baitul Mukarram National Mosque Musalli Committee organised the competition in the holy month of Ramadan this year in association with Bashundhara Group.

Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan inaugurated the programme while international Islamic scholar Mufti Ahmad Afnan of India was the chief guest on the occasion.

Internationally acclaimed Islamic scholar Ahmed Ahmed Nuinaa graced the event as a guest of honour.

Bashundhara Group Managing Director and Baitul Mukarram National Mosque Musalli Committee Chief Adviser Sayem Sobhan Anvir presided over the function.

Addressing the function, Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan expressed his desire to establish an Islamic university in Bashundhara Residential Area.

He also directed the organisers of the ‘Quraner Noor’ competition to increase the number of winners in future.

Bashundhara Group Managing Director Sayem Sobhan Anvir announced that they will organise the competition internationally from Bangladesh in future.

Baitul Mukarram Musalli Committee President Eakub Ali, Senior Vice-President Gulzar Ahmed and General Secretary Mizanur Rahman Manik were also present on the occasion.

Nasrullah Anas and Mohammad Bashir Ahmed of Markazut Tahfiz International Madrasah secured fourth and fifth position respectively. They have been awarded Tk 0.2 million each.

Three other winners Labib Al Hasan from Mymensingh, Abu Talha Anhar from Netrakona and Abdullah Al Maruf from Sylhet have received Tk 0.1 million each.

Apart from the prize money, the top eight winners will get the opportunity to perform Umrah along with their parents.

Source: thefinancialexpress